pinksky

changes

How does one begin a blog post after such a long absence?  Just do it, I guess haha

What started out as just an idea, grew into a plan and soon enough a blog-free January seemed like the right thing to do.  I was starting my new job and I just wanted to rest up as much as possible before I lost my extended holidays for good.  However, if I was being real and honest to myself and to you as readers, one of the main reasons for my extended blog break was I just didn’t enjoy it very much anymore.

Perhaps it was my perfectionist tendencies to labour over each photo and edit and re-edit posts.

Perhaps I cared too much about what people thought of me when they read my blog.

Perhaps it was just the end of a massive year and I just needed time to recharge.

Perhaps it could have been a lot of other things but I recognised that blogging had started to become more of a chore for me and as selfish as it sounds, I wasn’t writing for myself anymore.  If we drill down a bit further, I was letting my blog consume and define me and it wasn’t healthy.

So blogging was left to the side and real life continued.  Adjusting to full-time work has probably been the biggest challenge lately but I am truly blessed to be working with such a great team of people who have been really supportive and helping me settle in.  Yesterday marked my first month with the firm and I can see that I am starting to feel more at home now :).

Working day in, day out has also made me realise that I need to make time to do things for myself.  Catching up with friends over lunch and dinners has been great but being an introvert, it does take a fair bit out of me and with ministry taking up most of the weekend, there’s not much left in the reserves after working from 9am-5:30pm, 5 days a week.

So I guess this is where blogging has its place.  I do miss writing and it’s something that I want to start doing again but with the right motivations.  It does mean that my writing style and frequency may change; change isn’t always a bad thing :).  CNY and eating out in the city in between and after work has also added fuel to the fire so to speak ;). Hope you’ll continue on this journey with me – if not, I wish you well and will keep writing about the things that motivate, excite and inspire me.

pinksky

♥ Ames

5 thoughts on “changes”

  1. Thanks for sharing this heartfelt post, Ames. And hey, glad to hear we’re both starting this new chapter at the same time. Totally know how you feel because I feel like I’m still finding my groove too. It’s just learning to settle down into this new lifestyle. Hope you’re well and do take good care ok!

    1. Thanks, Wince :) Glad I’m not the only one.
      It is incredibly liberating to finally get out of the blogging rut I had found myself in. Lots of changes but I’m certain it is all for the best. Here’s to better days ahead!

  2. I completely understand how you feel, I went through that last year when I started work full time in May ~ I honestly think it’s a huge transition from University to working full-time. You have less time to yourself and I understand how sometimes the blog can seem laboursome.

    I too fell into the trap of wanting all my ‘posts’ to be perfect :) But it’s okay they don’t need to be, because your true Readers will always come back :D So take your time, slowly ease into work and I’m sure you’ll slowly find the motivation to blog again!

Comments are like waking up to sunshine... positively lovely :). You know what to do!

