Yum!

Yummy Frozen Blueberry Smoothie

About a month ago, one of the lovely ladies from church helped stock up our fridge and freezer with goods so that my mum wouldn’t have to do as much grocery shopping while my dad was overseas.  How kind :).  However, a few days ago, we had a dilemma.

There wasn’t enough room in the freezer! #firstworldproblems

One of the things she had bought for us was a 1 kg pack of blueberries that we hadn’t really had a chance to open up yet so while the blueberries were thawing in the fridge below, I posted up a question on Facebook where I was given a number of suggestions as to what to do with them:

blueberries_fb

As the title of this posts suggests, I made myself a blueberry smoothie! :)

Very simple and a great energy booster after a long day at work!

Frozen Blueberry Smoothie

adapted from Taste.com.au

Serve = 1 glass

IMG_6440-2

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 
1 cup milk
  • 2 tbs yoghurt (first time I made it we didn’t have yoghurt in the house so I used a scoop of ice-cream hehe)
  • 
1 tbs honey
  • 
1 tbs flaxseed meal

Method

  1. Place all ingredients in the jug of a blender. Blend until smooth and thick. Pour into a serving glass and serve immediately.

IMG_6442-2

Note: obviously this is not a regular blender – we had one of the bullet thingy that we bought ages ago off a tv infomercial :P

IMG_6446-2 IMG_6449-2 IMG_6452-2

Yum!
Yum!

Make sure you check your teeth in the mirror afterwards as there’s bound to be bits of blueberries everywhere haha

Enjoy!  Have a great week everyone :).

Question time: What would you make with 1kg of blueberries?

♥ Ames

23 thoughts on “Yummy Frozen Blueberry Smoothie”

    1. I just love the colour that blueberries bring to any dish :D

      If we can find more use for them, I’m sure we’ll invest in them after we run out!

    1. Thanks, Daisy! Yeah we have a number of things hidden away in cupboards that would surely be good to make yummy food… if only we would take them out lol that’s why I’m glad we had the little bullet – lot quicker to put together and also to clean :D

    1. Oooo blueberry cobbler sounds yum – haven’t made it before but now keen to try it out… probably not as healthy though right? :P

    1. yay for smoothie lovers :D I’ve never had peanut butter in a blueberry smoothie before… would it blend well though? Hmmm gonna look up a blueberry tart receipe for the weekend methinks ;)

    1. awww shucks *blushes* thanks Grace :) I’ll see how I got with passing it on… not much time for blog-reading let alone blogging nowadays :S

  1. Those berries look like they’re from Costco! :p

    I love blueberries… in fact, I like ALL berries. Too bad that berry season is almost over though :(

    1. You should definitely make use of them, Jenny! I intend to do some baking tomorrow involving blueberries so we’ll see what comes of it :)

    1. Can I tell you a secret, leaf? I still have some left in my freezer right now kekeke probably should blend myself another one soon ^^

Comments are like waking up to sunshine... positively lovely :). You know what to do!

