IMG_20130226_084453

Quick Breakie @ Sette Bello, CBD

Sometimes you can come across a gem by accident.

Two weeks ago, I had training for lawyer skills such as client interviews, letter writing, negotiating and advocacy.  We were also fed us very, very well by the training institute.  This had both pluses and minuses.  Plus – lunch was provided, saving some money lol.  Minus – I’m still trying to get rid of the food baby that developed that week :P.

Plus – we were located on Little Bourke St.  Minus – the day that I intended to go early to grab a bite beforehand, it was raining cats and dogs!

I found a bit of shelter at a café I had spied the day before and decided to make it my choice for breakfast.  The thing that attracted me was the Toby’s Estate name that I saw outside:

wpid-20130301_115323.jpg
taken on a sunnier day :)

But before anyone gets too excited, the infamous Toby’s Estate from Sydney has not opened up a branch in Melbourne – however, their coffee beans has definitely made it over to Settebello, a modern little café on the corner of Hardware Lane and Little Bourke St.

On this occasion, I decided against the caffeine as I also had to handle an umbrella along with my books and bag!   Instead, my attention was drawn to the display cabinet:

IMG_20130226_084453

I really liked the simplicity of the display – less was definitely more in this instance.

I decided on the lighter egg, mushroom and cheese Breakfast Sandwich ($7.50) which I took back to the training centre to munch on before class.

wpid-IMG_20130226_085308.jpgI have to say that I really enjoyed this delicious and filling breakfast.  Juicy and beautifully seasoned mushrooms, fresh crunchy lettuce (they must have toasted it and then put the lettuce on because it wasn’t soggy at all!), sweet fried onion with a fried egg sandwiched between two perfectly toasted pieces of focaccia bread :).  The only thing that I wish had been different was that didn’t scoff it down in less than 10 mins lol.  I didn’t want to be sitting outside the room too long ;).

I’d love to visit again if I wasn’t in such a rush – perhaps a good place to visit over the long weekend? :P

Sette Bello

50 Hardware Lane

Melbourne CBD

Sette Bello on Urbanspoon

Have a Happy Labour Day, Melbournians!

Question: What are you doing this long weekend?

♥ Ames

 

14 thoughts on “Quick Breakie @ Sette Bello, CBD”

    1. Haha yeah I wonder how many great places we just miss because it’s a bit subtle and unassuming… :) I think it is a winning combination too!

  1. My (other) lawyer friend also gets fed very, very well … which makes me think that perhaps I should have continued with my law studies hahaha.

    I love mushrooms and cheese so the breakfast sandwich will definitely go down nicely before work :)

    1. MAJOR delayed replies coming… I LOVE SHROOMS with a passion, mostly when they are lightly pan fried and then sprinkled with sea salt..mmm. I don’t know of any law students food blogger club but would love to start one if there were any others out there :P

Comments are like waking up to sunshine... positively lovely :). You know what to do!

