Review: Batch, St Kilda

Before the photography class at Obscura Gallery, I had about 40 mins for a late lunch in the area and being the wannabe foodie I am, I had GoogleMapped the suburb and made a beeline for a little cafe nearby called Batch (Espresso).  I rarely go out to eat on a Sunday afternoon (it’s usually a family affair) so I don’t know if the busy-ness of Batch was what you would normally expect.  It felt like a lot of the other hipster-type cafes that are around Melbourne but it had a more homely atmosphere with a few dads grabbing a coffee and reading the paper with their kids in tow.

interesting bit of interior design

Given that the staff were so busy, I was left standing at the door, unsure if I should just grab myself a table or wait to be directed.  After a few moments, I went to the counter and asked for the menu ha.  Before I took a seat, I was told that their corn fritters and fish curry was sold out.

Being alone and not yet confident to whip out the DSLR, I mainly just observed with my eyes :P.  So besides their breakfast all-day menu, they have freshly baked bread from Bakery Lievito (I assume a local bakery – $6 per loaf) plus their own blend of coffee.  Being close to 2 in the afternoon, I thought it was probably wise to stay away from the caffeine…

After an enquiry or two with one of the waitresses, I discovered that most of their dishes were on the spicy side so I chose the one that would not cause me to keep downing liquid to quench the burn – their baked eggs with chorizo and a few other things (I knew I should have taken a photo of the menu before she whisked it away!  I think it was $14.00).

I think it was also the first time I had baked eggs so being a fan of trying new things, I could not wait to tuck in… hence, I burnt my tongue! lols, and the roof of my mouth too… but boy, was it good.  The assorted herbs and sauce gave it a punch of flavour and balanced out the saltiness of the chorizo.  The eggs were just cooked with a bit of runny goodness and the sour cream on the side helped me get rid of the chilli taste when it got too overwhelming.  Really enjoyed it and would be happy to go back if I’m ever in the area.

Batch Espresso on Urbanspoon

♥ Ames

7 thoughts on “Review: Batch, St Kilda

  1. Hi Ames,
    Your first post just appeared on Urbanspoon! Check it out:
    http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/71/760163/restaurant/Victoria/Batch-Espresso-St-Kilda
    I encourage you to claim your blog, which allows you to add a picture and change some settings. The blog photo shows up next to your posts wherever they appear on Urbanspoon. Here’s how to claim:
    – Make sure you’re logged into Urbanspoon
    – Go to your blog page on our site: http://www.urbanspoon.com/br/71/5548/Victoria/Sunshine-on-my-mind.html

    – Click “Claim your blog” in the left sidebar
    After you submit it, we may contact you to verify your claim. Check your spam email folder if your claim hasn’t gone through in a day or two. You’ll also find some interesting badges and widgets on your Urbanspoon blog page – look in the right sidebar.
    Let me know if you have any questions.
    Thanks,
    Ken
    http://www.urbanspoon.com

Comments are like waking up to sunshine... positively lovely :). You know what to do!

