on the theme of green…

We celebrated a milestone-of-a-birthday for my cousin, Al this past weekend which gave me an excuse to get my creativity shoes on…

Al recently made the decision to go vegetarian (vegan actually) for environmental and ethical reasons, so I decided to add a recipe or two that would fit with his newfound lifestyle (however, given that he got a ‘library’ of vegan cookbooks, my little offering felt a bit tacky… oh well, it’s the thought that counts right?).

I also decided to try my hand at a vegan recipe I adapted from Wayfarying Chocolate:

Sunflower Coconut Honey Truffles 

Makes approximately 25 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seed butter (interchangeable with any nut butter)
  • 90ml raw honey
  • 2 tb ground golden flaxseed*
  • lots of cocoa powder, for rolling
  • 1/2c water, optional, as needed

*If you had a proper look at the photo above, I used brown flaxseed (linseed) instead of golden flaxseed and it was the whole seed instead of grounded…  1) golden flaxseed is not generally stocked in your local supermarket or health food store (the shop assistant said we could have it ordered in if we really wanted it- I bought ingredients the day before!), 2) I misread the initial instructions and used 1 CUP of flaxseed and 3) I thought I could personally ground the flaxseed myself…

That was way too optimistic of me lols.  Halfway through, I just gave up and put the whole seeds in only for my mum to come home and tell me (after I’d finished making them) that I could have put them in the food processor and had them all ground in seconds -_-“.  Anyway, on with the recipe!

Method (pretty much as from Wayfaring Chocolate but with a few variations)
  1. In a medium-sized bowl, combine the coconut flour, sunflower seed butter, honey, and flaxseed.
  2. Using a wooden or metal spoon, stir thoroughly to combine as best you can. Since the sunflower seed butter and honey can be rather thick and solid, add the water (slooooowly, as needed) until the mixture started to clump when pressed together in my hands. Be careful with the water, though, as you don’t want to overdo it and make the mixture taste insipid. Keep checking as you go, until the dough stays together when you press it together. If that makes sense… (be sure to add enough water… I didn’t and paid for it)
  3. Roll the mixture into balls, the size of your choosing.
  4. Pour your cocoa into a small bowl, then roll each truffle in the cocoa to coat. Store in the fridge or in your belly.

Honestly, they didn’t look that appealing by the time we travelled all the way from the eastside to south Melbourne (especially not next to all that other scrumptious looking food!). As mentioned above, I didn’t add enough liquid so they fell apart quite easily :S.  Oh well, I tried haha.  I have learnt some valuable lessons from that cooking endeavour though…. 1) Try the recipe once before actually making it for a special occasion 2) Being vegan is not something to be taken lightly and should be thoroughly respected (though, I think I may keep eating meat and dairy for a bit longer…).

Happy birthday, Al!

Oooo, and there was a gorgeous double rainbow that arvo:

A present from heaven, I’ll say ;).

♥ Ames

6 thoughts on “on the theme of green…

    1. Haha, thanks Grace! Not sure if they tasted as they looked… with the little that I tried, I think I would add more honey next time to balance out the cocoa coating :).

  1. I’VE NEVER SEEN A DOUBLE RAINBOW. I’m totally jealous.

    I recently completed a 21 day fast, modeled after the Daniel fast, which is basically like being a vegan. OMG SO HARD.

    So. Hard.

    1. It was my first time to see one… ’twas so beautiful :).

      Whoa, good on you! I’d like to try it out at one point but I think living at home makes it hard because nearly every meal we have at home will have one meat dish and if you put it in front of me, it’ll be hard to resist!

      *sigh* Missed you too, Lor *hugs*

      <3

Comments are like waking up to sunshine... positively lovely :). You know what to do!

