a lesson from my dad

When we celebrated my dad’s birthday last year…

He told me stories of his childhood and the kind of life he lived when he first came to Australia.  I let him muse about how fast time flies.  He recounted the days when he used to live near Bondi Beach before moving to Melbourne, working long hours at different jobs in various restaurants, in the fish markets, in car factories… And he taught me an old Chinese phrase of how in life, we’ll all encounter ‘the sweet, the sour, the bitter and the spicy’…  (it sounds much better in Cantonese hehe)

I said my life seems so easy compared to all his experiences but he said there’s no need to compare because I have or will have my own ‘sweet, sour, bitter and spicy’ moments…

The sweet: moments that bring a smile to your face and make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside
The sour: moments that make you screw up your face in disbelieve at what has just happened
The bitter: moments that leave you feeling depressed or moments you’d rather not face up to
The spicy: moments that make you sweat or cry uncontrollably
I guess my life has been peppered with a bit of each kind of flavour recently.  And that’s ok.  That’s life.  It’s making me stronger.  It’s like that saying: whatever doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger.
– posted June 23, 2010

It’s hard to put into words what my dad means to me.  His encouragement, his love, his wisdom, his integrity, his generosity, his faith and prayers have all shaped the person I am today.  Love you, Dad!

Happy Father's Day, Dad!

Of course Father’s Day wouldn’t be the same without some good food hehehe… we had a lovely spread at church which left me quite bloated but I thought I’d share the recipe that was my mum’s pride and joy today (mainly because it was so easy to make and pretty to look at).

Butter Biscuits

(originally ‘burnt butter biscuits’ but I don’t think she burnt the butter)

Makes about 70 of the size above

Ingredients

  • 125 grams of butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • vanilla essence (up to you how much you use)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 cups of self-raising flour
  • glazed cherries (optional)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to moderate heat (180°C)
  2. Heat butter in saucepan until melted (or light brown if you want to burn it slightly), add sugar and beat.
  3. Beat egg in a separate bowl and then add gradually to the butter sugar mixture.
  4. Add sifted flour, mix well.
  5. Roll into small balls, flatten and press a glazed cherry on each
  6. Bake for 15 mins or until golden brown.
  7. Eat and be merry!

♥ Ames

9 thoughts on “a lesson from my dad

  1. That is beautiful my friend, daddies are so special :D
    You celebrated this priceless relationship beautifully!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    P.S Nice to meet another Aussie blogger! I am a Sydney girl :)

    1. Thanks Choc Chip Uru ^^ I love my family and yeah it was nice to celebrate what they mean to you :) Glad to meet such an awesome Aussie blogger too! Will be following your amazing success :)

Comments are like waking up to sunshine... positively lovely :). You know what to do!

