10 days in…

It really is quite extraordinary what can be accomplished when you set your mind to it!

As previously mentioned, I’ve been attempting to re-learn the guitar for at least the last 10 years and in the last 10 days I’ve learnt: 9 chords, 2 scales and 4 songs that I can somewhat comfortably pick away at (Silent Night, Morning Has Broken, Amazing Grace, Waltzing Matilda)! Pretty happy with the progress though I’m developing calluses on my fingers (as should have been expected). It’s funny how I’ve been so precious about my fingers all my piano-playing life and now I’m purposely causing them pain… oh well, ‘no pain, no gain’ right?

Alongside this little challenge, I’ve been diligently eating only fruit and vege (though I ate two pieces of bread out of desperation since there was next to nothing without bread at one of those catered lunches!), I’ve been coffee-free, tried out lots of new recipes, got my gym program all set and going, started a new job, gone to Boot Camp once in the Flagstaff Gardens (so great to workout outdoors and run around the greenery!), watched Hugo (mmm, wasn’t the greatest), had a water balloon fight with my bro plus done a massive overhaul of my wardrobe, bookshelf and room in general. 2012 hasn’t started off that bad after all ;).

One lesson I’ve learnt is that less is more. I think it’s very easy to fall into the habit of accumulating more things, wanting the latest gadget or fashion. However, at the end of the day, it’s all just ‘stuff’. And stuff takes up a lot of room – my bedroom can vouch for that lol. I’m not against acquiring new items (I just invested in some new makeup thanks to Mookxi‘s suggestions) but I think it has to be balanced with giving away of either things we don’t use anymore or things that we can bless others with. In particular, cleaning out my room has made me evaluate: exactly how much of my resources and time do I spend on myself and those I care about compared with how much I spend on people who could never pay me back in return…?

Food for thought.

Lol, sorry this went in a more philosophical direction than I intended. This was really just an update on my progress and a note to say that I MISS YOUR FACES – such a Lor thing to say ;). I miss blogging – I guess you never realise how much something has become a part of your life until it is gone. So I figured, that since I have been a good girl with the guitar playing I don’t really need to bane myself from the blog… right??? I don’t think I’ll be doing proper reviews until after this 30 day challenge is complete but I may drop by everyone once in a while ;).

Hope your 2012 has been just as amazing!

♥ Ames

10 thoughts on “10 days in…

  1. You are doing much better than I. After a thirty year absence, I decided to take it back up again, and play as I did in my youth.

    To date, I have only mastered two chords and the process of tuning up the instrument to play. It is so hard to find the time to do this.

    DS

    1. It really takes discipline to make time for it but just remember what you are aiming for and let that be your motivation to pick the guitar up and play. All the best :).

  2. Oh I wish I could learn the guitar again too! Hooray for you and doing great things! You don’t have to ban yourself from blogs. Its journal writing, right?

    1. I guess you could learn after the bub is put? It is truly exciting to be learning a new skill! It’s a good reminder that there should never be a boring day in your life if you are constantly trying new things and developing new interests :).

      I still keep a hand-written journal so I guess blogging is more sharing life with a bigger audience of me, myself and I ;).

      Hope things are going well for you, American Ames :). I can’t wait to try your cinnamon scroll after my fast, looks delish! much love.

  3. I definitely believe that less is more. I always feel so great after purging things and keep what I feel is neccessary. I don’t like to feel cluttered, and my periodic purges can attest to that.

    Hooray for missing faces! :)
    Many hugs

  4. You guys miss so many faces… Just keep practising and you’ll hit them one day.

    What didn’t you like about Hugo? I was really looking forward to it after the amazing reviews it was getting…

    Blogging really is amazing- and so good for the soul, when done right. If you can bless others (and you do) with some uplifting reading in this world of sensationalism and horror in the media, then you’re doing something wonderful :).

    1. You are indeed most strange, Evan Ritchie. Whatever happened to being a silent observer, hmmm?

      I’ll leave my comments about Hugo for a post I hope to do soon about some flicks I’ve watched lately though don’t let my opinion stop you from seeing it… I think my view may have been influenced from our expectations and the time of day we watched it.

Comments are like waking up to sunshine... positively lovely :). You know what to do!

