Review: NARS Blush/Bronzer Duo

Whoa, can’t believe it’s February already!  I guess time flies when you are having fun ;).  I’ve tried a lot of new things for the first time last month, one of which was to have a make up tutorial with the make up artist herself, Mookxi ;).  Since she’s overseas at the moment she can’t go and deny the fact that she really is a pro when it comes to knowing what to paint your face with and how to do it!  I, on the other hand usually go all naturale, mainly because I’m usually running out the door with an Up-and-Go in my hand and have less than no time to bother with make up!  However, Mookxi did my make up for a Christmas function last year and in the process, she convinced me that I should start making a bit more of an effort when I go to work in a corporate environment (“It looks more professional,” she says – fair enough).

SO, we arranged that make up tutorial that I mentioned earlier and she gave me a basic formula that I can somewhat pull off in 10-15 mins every other morning :D.  One of the items she recommended to me was NARS Blush/Bronzer Duo.

Mookxi estimated that it would generally retail for $54.00 AUD (do we put the currency before or after the $ sign?) so she suggested I buy it online.  Ebay = ~ $40.00 AUD brand new including postage and of course I had to get the one with the free nail polish hehe.  Lol, now I know what you are thinking (well, I think I do!)… you are thinking, “What?!  I signed up for recipes and foodie reviews!  What’s this stuff about make up?”

WELL, as mentioned in the previous post, this isn’t strictly a food blog and though I have a backlog of food posts to write, I hope you’ll bear with me as I gush a little bit about my first make up online purchase :D. [However, you can skip to the bottom for a note about an upcoming foodie project!]

Firstly, let’s open the box:

Pretty-ful! (btw, if any future law firm recruiters see this post, I promise you I don't write like this anywhere else except on the blog!)

And open the lid (sounds like the ‘Jack in the Box’ nursery rhyme!):

The colour of the blush is called ‘Orgasm’ (hmmm…) and ‘Laguna’ for the bronzer.  When Mookxi tried it on my face the first time, I really liked how the natural flushed look the blush gave to my cheeks and the bronzer (as I’ve now learnt) helps create shadows and definition to your jaw line and cheekbones *nods knowledgeably*.

I probably should post a photo of me with the make up on but I’m currently in my PJs and have no intention of putting on make up at this time of the night! Hence, you’ll just have to trust me that it looks awesome with my skin tone :P.

I was also really pleased with the colour of the nail polish because not only does it match the blush colour, it gives a nice shine without being too obvious and bright for the workplace (not the most flattering photo of my thumb nail but this left-hander was having trouble taking a photo on the SLR with her right hand!):

I’m still of the mindset that makeup should be for special occasions/purposes rather than the norm BUT a bit of make up know-how probably is a good thing for the professional work environment :).  Give Mooki’s blog some love if you are interested in beauty products, ukulele covers and other nifty things!

♥ Ames

P.S. Check back soon for a new foodie project/initiative that I’m launching in a few days!  This idea has been bubbling away for the last few weeks… the hint: linking the love of food with the love for those in need :).  Ames over and out!

8 thoughts on “Review: NARS Blush/Bronzer Duo

  1. I LOVE makeup. Can’t get enough of it. Pocket book doesn’t always allow for purchases, but I’d love to get some new blush and bronzer!

  2. I love Nars and actually owned this combo for a while. Unfortunately the colors weren’t right for me so I gave it away to my sister.

    Can’t wait to see what you’ve got in store, girly!

    Lor

  3. Ooh! Love natural looks, so I might give this a try, when I’ve finished off my 10 boxes of bronzers and blushes which I’ve seemed to have accumulated!

  4. Fancy make up! Makes me want to grab some myself. Ames, if you have the chance, click back to my blog because I’ve award you the Liebster blog award! Congrats, hehe!

    beau-desordre.blogspot.com.au

    1. Awww you are too kind, Soph! Belated welcome back to Oz, btw :). I have been following but having been leaving comment tis all… but will get back into it soon :). Thanks for the award!! <3

Comments are like waking up to sunshine... positively lovely :). You know what to do!

