A few big announcements!

No, I’m not getting married! Lol, I remember when J used to sit us down for a chat and we’d always jokingly ask her if that was the case (until one day, she actually did make that announcement!)…

Well, first off – I’ve finished the 30 day guitar challenge!  I was pretty good for the first 20 days but once I got through the beginners guitar book my friend Ada lent me,  I found it harder to know what to practice.  I ended up trying to perfect the C- Am-F-G progression which I’m still working on… I’m not quick enough with my transition between the chords yet but I’m not gonna stop just yet ;).  There’s definitely a newfound appreciation of guitarists and string instrument players in general!

Secondly, I want to thank Soph for the Liebster Blog Award!  The Liebster Blog Award is for blogs with less than 200 followers, allowing for lesser known blogs to be appreciated and recognised.  [I must just quickly interject here to say that my blog follower count on the right —> is a bit deceptive… somehow, since these blog posts are automatically publicized on my Facebook page, WordPress includes the number of ‘friends’ I have from there as well… in reality, I have 26 WordPress blog followers and 3 E-mail blog followers = 29 followers though not including those through RSS feed… so much less than 200!]

I met Soph in real life through a friend of a friend back in 2009 (that’s when we think it was) and I’ve had the pleasure of chatting with her via Twitter and other social media mediums since then until we met again in real life before her trip overseas.  I love the way she writes as well and always appreciates it when she visits so go over there and give her some blog lovin’.

The Libester Blog Award Rules:
1. Thank the Liebster who awarded me.
2. Link back to their blog.
3. Copy and paste award on my blog
4. Reveal my top 5 Liebster blogs
5. Let them know you chose them by leaving a comment on their blog.
 I would like to pass this award to (in no particular order)
  1. 6ixx – choir buddy since primary school; she’s the one who inspired me to start a blog way back in 2008
  2. Mama Bea’s – best baker her age that I know; I know who is creating my wedding cake one day ;)
  3. Vintage Pearl – another real-life-friend-turned-blogger; love Hannah’s quirky style and love for all things vintage!
  4. Imani – Rosie’s a new blogger too and her blog posts always challenge me to look deeper than the surface
  5. Lydia {takes pictures} – always inspires me to get out there and make better use of my DSLR :)

It was difficult choosing just five so I wanted to also give Honourable Mentions to bloggers who already have an established fan base but that I HEART as well :)

I better stop there as I could go on and on about the amazing people I’ve ‘met’ through blogging, it’s been a pleasure :).

Now moving on to the really big announcement!

If you have been following this blog, you would have known that I began a Daniel fast last month which meant fasting from meat, bread and sugar.  There was a lot of time for personal reflection (and new cooking experiments!) and one of the things that came out of it was this new foodie idea/project/initiative…

Click through to find out what it is all about and I hope you can join in too.

And one final announcement, whilst on the fast, I also gave thought to taking a new direction with my old blog.  I’ve decided to open it up to a wider audience now (though not yet confident enough to post them directly to Facebook) so you’ll find the button on the right sidebar and I’ll give updates here every once and a while :).  I hope to have special posts on Fridays to feature a book, song, quote or anything else that has inspired me but this Friday (tomorrow) I’ll be develing deeper into the idea behind the ‘Eat Out: Help Out’ project and how it’s going to work.

OK, I better hit the sack with an optimistic plan to go to the gym before the last day of work tomorrow :D.

♥ Ames

9 thoughts on “A few big announcements!

  1. Amy, thank you for the honorable mention!! :) that absolutely made my day! (And slightly guilty for letting Chapterhouse Lane become so neglected. Rest assured, your name IS in a story, your character WILL remain in the story and the story will one day be published on CL.)

    “Mum” to be… :D I adore you, Ames!

    1. Oh I didn’t mean to make you feel guilty :S I have no doubt that you’ll get around to publishing it but you have much more important things to attend to so you just take care of yourself and we’ll have a happy Ames on this side of the world :). Hope everything is going well!

    1. You are most welcome :). Hehe, actually now that I think about it, this was my first one too!
      Keep up the great work, I love your view through the lens :).

  2. Awww you are so sweet and *blush*!!!!! Thanks very much for your follows and comments on my blog as well! Couldn’t have done it without the support of fellow bloggers and readers! I feel like I need to give out a Oscar speech :) LOL

    1. I always love reading your posts and have learnt a lot from them in terms of blogging and even more so about cooking and cafes/restaurants to try :).

  3. So many things!

    1. Happy Valentines Day my dear.
    2. I had no idea you were still posting on that blog and I’ve just spent so much time clicking through. I love you.
    3. Can’t wait to check out Eat Out Help Out.
    4. Many Hugs.

    Lor

Comments are like waking up to sunshine... positively lovely :). You know what to do!

