Queen Victoria Night Market – Kransky and Honey Dumplings

Though I’ve lived in Melbourne all my life, I’ve only ever made it down to the Queen Vic Night Market twice, the second time being last Wednesday.  We arrived just a bit before 5:30pm and there was already a crowd building…

We got a table right near the mini stage before we all went to scout out some food.  For me, I was on a mission to try some Germany sausages! My uncle (who is also a bit of a foodie!) had been raving about them for a while so I was determined to find out what they were all about…

I wasn’t sure which to choose so the lady behind the counter suggested the ‘Kransky’.  I added Onions and Cheese for $1 each.

The bread was like a Vietnamese roll which made it a bit crumbly to eat but it was worth it.  The Kransky, which apparently originates from Poland (so says the half-Polish guy sat beside me), was rich in flavour and very different from the humble snags that I’m used to on the Aussie barbie.  Onions were a bit cold so I’d probably skip it when I try a Bratwaurst next time.

I wasn’t quite full yet and was keen for some Dutch Pancakes however, one of the girls highly recommended Honey Dumplings so…

I was recommended to try the Honey Dumplings with chocolate and ice-cream and then requested a sprinkle cinnamon and nuts on top ($7.50).

So what are honey dumplings?  Essentially, they are deep fried balls of doughnut dough dipped in honey and then the topping as described above.  It was YUM!  Lol, there are 5 in a serve but it is incredibly filling so I got some of the guys to share some.  I liked how the chocolate topping froze dry… haven’t had Ice Magic for a long, long time!

As for the rest of the market, most things are overpriced but if you have the time you might find a good bargain.  The atmosphere is great though and of course food a plenty :D.  The Night Market is on for two more Wednesdays (until the end of Feb) for grab a few friends and have a great night out!

In total, I spent $17.00 on food that night and so set aside $8.50 for the Eat Out:Help Out Project.

♥ Ames

14 thoughts on “Queen Victoria Night Market – Kransky and Honey Dumplings

  1. That place is begging for a flash mob! Ha ha. Food looks delish. Bret would have loved the sausage, he was a mormon missionary in Germany and adores the food!
    ah you made me hungry. Off to the fridge.

  2. I went to the nighmarket a few times last year but STILL haven’t ventured down this year… Has the night market ceased for 2012? I was thinking it finished some time in March? Or sooner? It’d be a shame if it has.. I always enjoyed myself there. Good churros too.

    1. Sadly, we all shall have to wait til next yr as I believe the night markets only run in Summer :-( but churros shall be added to the brain bank on what to eat in 2013! Thanks for visiting this little blog :-)

  3. YOU’VE GOT TO BE KIDDING. I can’t believe you’ve only been here TWICE! I loooove Vic Mark! Haha. Anyway, I’ve never had that honey dumplings, looks amazing. Hope it motivates you to stop by this place more often now haha!

    1. Well, twice to the night markets… I believe we went to an excursion here once back in the primary school day :-P I would totally go everyday if I didn’t have to commute 50 mins back home with the groceries and my uni backpack ;-)

  4. Haha I think I’ve only been here twice in my life. Both times were okay, but I wasn’t rushing to go back. There seems to be a lot more things to see (and eat!) now so I’ll definitely pay other visit. Those honey dumplings look YUM!

    1. Definitely give it another go next summer, you might be surprised by what you find :). After revisiting this post, I’m craving honey dumplings now lol

Comments are like waking up to sunshine... positively lovely :). You know what to do!

