Like mother, like daughter? feat. Cacao Macarons

Whether we like it or not, there are some habits or characteristics that we’ll get from either of our parents.  Some good, some not so good haha

As I was assignmenting away two nights ago and with Mother’s Day coming up this weekend, I thought about some of the things I’ve picked up from my mum and what things set us apart… here are a few that came to mind…

Mum and I on her birthday a few years ago...

1. Great storyteller

My mum is an amazing storyteller!  She’s one of those people who can tell you all the little details of a particular scenario down to the expression that someone had on their face, all the while keeping your attention – even if it’s a story that takes 10 minutes to tell!  I, on the hand, start to get bored of my own voice after a minute or two so will probably start telling you a funny story and then half-way through, I’ll just give up and say, ‘You just had to be there!’  Need to improve in this area…

2. Procrastinator

Unfortunately, this is a habit that we’ve both trying to shake.  We were both up to the wee hours of the morning yesterday…

3. Night owl

Whereas my mum functions well at night, I’m more of a morning person.  I’d much rather sleep early to wake up early than vica versa if you know what I mean…

4. Musical

Music definitely runs on mum’s side of the family with all of her siblings and herself singing in the church choir back in Vietnam and her younger brother (my uncle) is the director of a music school in Sydney :).  Definitely glad I got her genes in this area ;).

Earlier this year :)

5. Doesn’t like to cook

Heresy, right?  Well before my mum married my dad, she rarely cooked and thankfully for her, my dad was/is a pretty good cook having worked in many a Chinese restaurant when he first came out to Australia.  Having been married for over 25 years now, she has a number of amazing dishes under her belt and lots of different cooking techniques, however, she’d still rather stay out of the kitchen if possible.  Me? I’d love to cook if I had the time :P.

6. Teacher

Runs in our blood.  ‘Nuff said.

7. Sweets

Sadly, my mum developed Type 2 diabetes around the time she had me so my dad and I are always trying to keep the sweets away from her… including these lovely macarons that I got as a gift from my first official photography gig last night:

Cacao Macarons *drool*

Apparently, her diabetes is hereditary so I have to make sure I don’t overdose on the sugar and have to forsake these lovelies forever…

French Vanilla - love the colours!! (pls excuse my thumb)
Pistachio (regular flavour) and Burnt Orange (seasonal flavour)

My dad had never had macarons before so I had the Burnt Orange and French Vanilla and let him have the rest… he really liked them hehe and so did I ;).  The delicate shells cracks the moment you bite into them and the ganache was smooth and packed with flavour.  I had the Burnt Orange after having put it in the fridge and tasted just as good if not better than the French Vanilla which I had on the way home hehe!

Cacao has a number of different locations and items can be bought online as well!  Interesting fact: Their macarons are gluten free and Cacao won Melbourne’s Best Macaron in 2010!

Cacao Fine Chocolates & Patisserie on Urbanspoon

Gift for your mum, maybe? :)

I know that not everyone has their mum by their side or perhaps like my dad’s mum (my grandma) they have passed away and Mother’s Day is more sad than happy.  However, I think that no matter where our mums may be, there are things about them that make them unique and special to us… and that’s something we can all celebrate!

Q: What characteristics or habits have you inherited from your mother? Or what characteristics or habits did you WISH you had inherited from your mother?

♥ Ames

22 thoughts on “Like mother, like daughter? feat. Cacao Macarons

  1. I definitely got the cooking, craft and caring gene from my mother…. also probably the nagging one too :P

    I have a fear of diabeties, but love sugar. It’s not good!

    I still need to try macarons from cacao!

    Great post :D

    1. Thanks for sharing, Shellie! Yeah, I was always scared to test my blood sugar levels just in case I found out the worse, but thankfully, I’m all normal at the moment.. hope it stays that way!

      Do go try the cacao macarons out and let me know what you think! You don’t even have to leave your desk to get an order of them ;).

      Thanks for stopping by !

  2. Pretty macarons, especially the French Vanilla!

    I’m one of those people who hope I don’t turn out like my mother, but there are some good and bad traits that are inevitable sometimes!

    1. Yeah, the colour design of the French Vanilla is one I haven’t seen before!

      I definitely don’t want to be a replicate of my mother but hopefully we can both take out the good traits and improve on the not so good ones :).

      Thanks for visiting, April!

    1. lol I’ve never heard that used to described to us before but thank you I guess XD

      Will try to keep the sugar to a minimum, m’am :).

  3. Aw, this is such a lovely post! My mum and I are both night owls, which I love. Means we’re both playing words with friends with each other from our different houses at midnight most nights :P Yay sugar!

    1. Haha that’s so cool, Hannah! My mum doesn’t have a smartphone yet and given that we’re still in the same house I guess that’s something I can look forward to in the future :D.

  4. Haha I love reading about the similarities and differences between you and your Mum. Great tribute to Mother’s Day. And hey! I’ve never heard or seen Cacao Macarons until now will def need to try them one day. Thanks for sharing these! Hope you and the fam had a great Mother’s Day celebration this year. You’re so lucky you have your Mum with you to celebrate such an awesome day. Good luck with the rest of semester kay. Take care!

    1. Lol thanks, Winston! Honestly, I had never heard of Cacao Macarons before I got them that day but they are definitely ones to track down :). I know I am very blessed to have my family around me and never want to take them for granted :). Best wishes with your studies too, catch you after exams !

  5. You and your mom look so much alike. :) The macrons look very delicious, never tried one before. It seems like there is no shop here that sells those. too bad.

    1. Haha thanks, I have to say that I never really thought about that… maybe because I’ve never really looked at us both at the same time to make the comparison! You really should give macarons a try, they are all the rage in Melbourne and a lot of places now… hope you’ll find some to taste soon! Thanks for stopping by!

    1. Which one? ;) I haven’t had a chance to try them again yet but I do love the fact that there is one on Elizabeth St… easy access from uni haha!

Comments are like waking up to sunshine... positively lovely :). You know what to do!

