Green Eggs and Ham: Reinvented

I was feeling a bit under the weather this past weekend due to lack of sleep and the cold weather so my mum being my mum put together a little something she picked up from her work colleagues that would make any egg-crazy girl happy… and she let me take photos too :).

Green Eggs and Ham: Reinvented

I googled Green Eggs and Ham and most have spinach or pesto but nothing with avocado hence ‘reinvented’…

Ingredients

  • 9 eggs
  • 2 ripe avocados
  • mayonnaise (as much you want really)
  • salt and pepper
  • toasted bread
  • shaved honey leg ham

Recipe

  1. Boil the eggs til hard-boiled.  Let them cool, run under cold water to loosen the egg-shell from the egg.
  2. Mash the eggs in a large bowl.
  3. Mix in the mayonnaise.
  4. Cut avocados up and mash in with egg mixture.
  5. Salt and pepper to taste.
  6. Spread generously over toasted bread.  Top with ham and munch!
Step 2
Step 4
Voila! There was another larger container as well...
Green eggs...
... and ham!

Not the greatest looking dish but it sure was yummy!  Loved the creamy mixture and so simple too!  Perfect to eat while revisiting the old Dr. Suess classic ;).

Hope you are enjoying the week so far and staying warm!

Q: What’s a simple and yummy dish that you’ve made lately?

♥ Ames

22 thoughts on “Green Eggs and Ham: Reinvented

  1. Omgosh how delicious! I think I prefer your version with smashed avo more than pesto. Good thinking, Amy! A breakfast meal I’d be happy to have any day.

    1. It was awesome! Makes me smile each time I eat it because it’s just so yummy! Probably because it was made with love too :D Perfect for breakfast… or lunch… and dinner hehe

      Cheers, Wince! :)

  2. Ooh this looks beautiful – and so simple too!

    I haven’t cooked anything lately (too busy, been out of town, too lazy haha) but I hope to get back to cooking when things are less crazy around here! Hope you’re feeling a lot better now! :) xoxo

    1. I know the feeling, Libby! This one is so easy though that even I can whip it up if I have only a few moments to spare, hope you give it a try and experience the yumminess for yourself :D.

      I am feeling a lot better now, thank you! xo

    1. Haha, thanks Adrian!

      Ooo, yum! We had fried chicken yesterday as well… though Coles had fried it for us beforehand :P

      Thanks for visiting over here! :)

    1. Indeed, Vien :). The BEST egg combo ever mwahaha lol, sorry it’s probably because I’m eating it right now for breakfast ^^’

      Hope things are going well down your end… Week 11 already !!!

  3. When I read 9 eggs, I was thinking OMG for one person??? Phew, you made extra. :P Eggs are my favourite too!! Whenever I see eggs on any breakfast menu, my eyes always light up…and with avocados? I’d be in heaven…

    1. Haha yeah it is a lot of eggs but it’s for spreading over many pieces of toast so it’s all good :D Ah, we think alike, Jenny! Cannot go past eggs for breakfast :). Thanks for visiting over here… now I can go explore your blog ^^

    1. It has definitely been a favourite for breakfast but I think we made too much because it’s taken us way too long to finish it all between my mum and I! I think we would half the number of eggs and just use one avocado next time hehe

  4. I’ve actually never thought of mixing avocados and eggs but that’s really silly cuz i love these too things and having them on top of toast and ham for breakie would be great ~ Thanks for giving me the idea ;)

Comments are like waking up to sunshine... positively lovely :). You know what to do!

