RMFFA: Artisan Chocolate, Cicada and Zokoko

Many afternoons ago, I came home to find a large box on my desk…

excuse the bad paint job on the left hand side corner :P

What could be inside?

Yay!!  If you didn’t know already, the Royal Melbourne Show is almost upon us (22 September – 2 October) and that means that winners of the 2012 Royal Melbourne Fine Food Awards (RMFFA – I checked; there are no horrible meanings to that acronym like last time!) are going to be announced soon as well!  I must admit that it’s been a while since I’ve been to the Melbourne Show and the last time that I went, I was more interested in show bags than the fine food and produce that are brought in from all around Australia! :P

Anyway, I was delighted when Lynne from Wrights got in contact to send some of the produce entered for this year’s RMFFAs to try and experiment with.

Let the education begin!

So with a bit of Googling research, I learnt that the results for the RMFFAs are released in two stages.   In the first stage the results are released for each class of the competition and the medal winners are announced.  In the second stage, champion trophies are awarded to the ‘best of the best’ in a particular class or group of classes within a category. The Champion trophy winners are announced at the Royal Melbourne Fine Food Awards Luncheon which will be held on Tuesday 25 September at Melbourne Showgrounds.  See more info here.

I was excited to find out that the produce that I had been sent had all taken medals in the first stage so without further ado, let’s have a look at what came in the box!  The chocolate is up first :D.

Chocolate – Bean to Bar

1. Cicada Artisan Chocolate – NSW (Cicada Artisan Chocolate Madagascar Milk Chocolate)

Category: MILK CHOCOLATE (PLAIN) – Bronze

Disclaimer: I should just say that this is the first time I’ve ever reviewed chocolate before (also the first time I’ve ever eaten artisan chocolate before) so please excuse me if I’m not as knowledgeable or articulate on the topic.  If you are looking for some intelligent and informative reviews on chocolate, the expert is Hannah for sure!

Unfortunately, a member of my family who shall remain unnamed broke into the block of chocolate before I had a properly look at the design but I imagine that it would have been quite cute looking (you can see it at the website – link below).  The chocolate itself was creamy and had a strong vanilla flavour.  Definitely not your average chocolate bar!  Apparently, you should be able to see the vanilla bean speckled through the bar…

Can you see it?

I quite liked it.  The description at the back says it all really.

I thought the bit about the Oompa Looompas was cute :D.

 2. Zokoko – NSW (Zokoko Goddess Dark 70% Cacao)

Category: DARK CHOCOLATE (PLAIN) – Bronze

unsuccessfully removed a label from the front…

The packaging of this block was exquisite!

Amazing, right?

Anyway after unwrapping the gold foil and taking a bite, I had an epiphany!  It has never been quite obvious to me before but after tasting this high quality produce, I’ve realised I do favour dark chocolate over milk :D.

This was rich and creamy, with a subtle hint of something else… the packaging says it should be raisins that I’m tasting hehe.  The slightly bitter aftertaste of the cocoa was also a highlight for me.  This was my favourite out of the two I think.  I thought about trying to cook with them both but I think I’d rather indulge block by block instead ;).

You can find both of these and other types of chocolate at the Royal Melbourne Show or at their websites:

www.cicadachocolate.com

www.zokoko.com

Random Question: Milk, Dark or White Chocolate?

♥ Ames

P.S. Makes sure you come around for the next post because there will be an exciting giveaway announced :D

24 thoughts on “RMFFA: Artisan Chocolate, Cicada and Zokoko

    1. It was nice to come home to a box of goodies ^^ Still working my way through the items but it just shows that Australia has a lot to offer produce-wise :).

  1. I haven’t gone to the Show for agesss and never with my boyfriend so we’re super excited about going this year :) You are super lucky to receive this box of chocolate goodness! I can’t wait to go and get my hands on one of them and DEVOUR them all!!!! Enjoy dearest!

    1. That sounds great, Daisy! I’m sure you guys will have a great time :). I’m sure you will also enjoy these chocolates too ^^ Thanks for your comments as always :).

    1. Yes, I love receiving mail of all kinds (except bills) and especially when they contain food hehe

      Thanks for stopping by, Alaine :)

  2. It’s been a while since I’ve been to the show (many years of working there as a Ticketek customer service rep have scared me from going) but for some reason, I wouldn’t mind going this year… probably won’t though due to time constraints, heh.

    Not a huge fan of chocolate (!!) but if I had to choose, a good (non-Cadbury or other crappy brand) milk chocolate. I also like white chocolate :)

  3. A box of chocolate, no less! What an awesome thing to review :D Glad that you had enough left to review. At my house, if I were not there to collect such a box, I would not even be able to SEE what was inside before they vanished into thin air.

    1. Oh well, it wasn’t just chocolate :P Thanks for your kind words, Minnie! Yes, I’ve seen informed the household that any food packages that arrive in the future should come be left for me to open first haha.

Comments are like waking up to sunshine... positively lovely :). You know what to do!

