Goodbye 2013… Hello 2014!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

2013 was a massive year for a lot of people I know – there were a lot of engagements, a few marriages, new jobs, a few new bubs that came along, travel exchanges…

For me, 2013 was a year of transition and change.  Stepping away from the life rhythms of a student into the realities of working life was a lot more challenging than I anticipated and I probably had a bit too much on my plate than my introverted self could comfortably handle.

However, having had a chance to really sit back and reflect on the past 365 days, even with its ups and downs, it has been pretty awesome.  Made lots of new friends and had a whole host of new experiences.  Here are a few of my favourite moments (CLICK BELOW; as posted on Instagram):

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 4.42.42 pm

 The top two personal highlights have probably got to be securing a permanent position for 2014 at my current workplace and being a part of the “Floodgates” music project with my recording-artist-friend, Dale Hembrow (EP to be released early 2014!!).

2014…

Now with the start of a new year, I’ve been thinking about what resolutions to make.  I’m pretty big on setting goals because at the very least, even if you don’t achieve them all, it gives you a direction and a target to work towards.

Here’s a few good suggestions I’ve found over the inter webs:

I’ve also found Zig Ziglar’s Wheel of Life  useful in working out what to things to focus on in 2014:

ziglar's wheel of life
Balanced Life = Successful Life

Looking back, I think the goals I set for 2013 were a bit unrealistic because I didn’t really factor in how much full-time work would impact the lifestyle I’d previously been accustomed to.

So now with a little bit of life experience and a better understanding of what time I actually do have, here’s what I’ve come up with:

ames2014resolutions

1. Exercise more | Sit less

Pretty self-explanatory.  I’ve been in the gym on and off in 2013 but I’ve probably bulged a bit more than I needed to.  Here’s to being more active (in the mornings) in 2014!

2. Cook more | Eat-Out less

Again, this isn’t one that needs much elaboration.  Here’s to trying more recipes and taking lunch to work more often in 2014 :D.

3. Rest more | Stress less

I’ve come close to burning out more than once in 2013 – in part because I’d push myself to do the same amount of things I did as a uni student with the time restrains of a trainee lawyer.  So in 2014, I’m reshuffling a few things and prioritising down-time so that I can have more energy in the long run and stress less over having not enough time to do all that needs to get done!

4. Laugh more | Cry less

Tears have flowed a number of times in 2013 – avoidable if I’d just learnt to not take things too seriously.  I think I put a lot of pressure on myself to perform well in all areas of my life and then when I didn’t measure up to the standards I set for myself, I’d get all worked up, frustrated and then fall apart.  2014 is about taking a chill pill and learning to just laugh when things don’t go the way you planned, extract the lessons and then move on.

5. Save more | Spend less

Doing a quick inventory of my wardrobe, I think I’ve done more than my fair share of shopping in 2013! 2014 is going to be the year of more thoughtful spending and saving for bigger things like trips or maybe some property later down the track (“we’re getting old and responsible!” says Melcer).

6. Pray more | Complain less

Being “busy” in 2013 has meant too much of the “doing” and not enough of quiet time before God.  This has led to a lot of complaining, worrying and anxiety I’m hopeful to not relive in 2014.  I’ve chosen a few verses to frame my thinking and I’m looking forward to keeping things in perspective this year:

SerenityPrayer

After putting that list together, I thought of a few more other things that I’d like to do this year too: improve my memory, be more focused in conversations, write/blog more :P.

I guess at the end of the day, the older you get, the more full life gets and it seems that time just flies.  As a result, I’m of the view that you have to be intentional about how you spend the life you’ve been given (even if that means intentionally making time to relax) and live “on purpose” – no time like the present to start :).

[edit]: Having said all that though, be nice to yourself even if you don’t get everything done – see here.

Here’s to a greater, more focused 2014!  May you fulfil all that you’ve been called to do in this life :).

– Ames

Your turn:  What are you thankful for about 2013 and are you going to intentionally do anything differently in 2014?

5 thoughts on “Goodbye 2013… Hello 2014!

  1. Happy 2014!
    Those are fantastic resolutions to achieve for this year, & I’m sure you’re going to grow & live very well in the days ahead =)

    love,
    charissa

Comments are like waking up to sunshine... positively lovely :). You know what to do!

