in between chapters and TBC

It has been over a month since my last post but a lot seems to have happened since then.

One of the biggest life milestone was finishing up at the job I had been in since I graduated from university.  Though I knew it was time to let go, it did not make the parting any less emotional.  There were many tears before and after the official announcement and on my last day, the waterworks hit even before I got up to say my final farewells.

It is still slightly surreal, probably because I have not started my new job yet but I’m sure once I’m back in an office space again it will hit me afresh.

What I realised was that at the core of it, it was the people, it was the relationships that I was finding hard to let go of.  I know it is not like I’m not going to be friends with my now ex-colleagues but it is more that the relationship dynamics have shifted, we won’t see each other every weekday anymore nor share in some of the in-jokes that used to fly across the partitions.  It is that ending that I still mourn quietly in the heart.

But as one wise man once said:

There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under the heavens:

a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.*

And now it is time for a new chapter, a new beginning.  The old is gone, the new has come (almost).  Trying to squeeze in the last few tasks on my to-do list before I settle back into the rhythms of full-time employment.

One of the things I wanted to do during my #funemployment, was blog about the progress of my 101 in 1001 list [101].

Currently, there are 17 tasks in progress and 5 tasks completed.  Most of the tasks in progress have involved food surprise surprise! :D

In this post I will provide a short review of one of the relatively new restaurants that I tried recently in the Melbourne CBD.

84. Try 20 new restaurants/cafes [7/20]

THE BRASS COQ (TBC)

Brass Coq Interior

I’m a keen follower of Broadsheet Melbourne and Vietnamese cuisine so when I saw a mention about how there was now pho for breakfast, I was sold.  The Broadsheet article said that the place opened up at 7am however, when we rocked up right on the dot, we found the place still locked up.  Evidently, not many patrons usually made it there that early (at least not a month ago).

Anyhow, the staff on the floor was kind enough to let us in out of the cold and we surveyed the menu…

Brass Coq Menu

Even though I was there for the pho I was still quite tempted to give some of the other items on the menu a go… however, my foodie brain woke up and I stuck with my original reason for being there in the first place.  But drinks first…

I was a bit sleep deprived from the early wake up call (we drove my dad to the airport that morning) so I was looking forward to some caffeine.  TBC only serves Vietnamese coffee though so I went with the hot version that my dad normally has… a bit too strong for me >.<  Might try the cold drip with heaps of sugar next time haha!

The watermelon and mint juice was much more refreshing, though quite small for the price.

BC_Pho

The pho came and I have to say I was a bit underwhelmed.  I’m used to having big bowls of steaming soup with enough pho noodles that you could see it when the bowl was set in front of you however, as you can see from the photo there was a big bowl but hardly any pho :(.  Having said that, the broth had a depth of flavour that could measure up to the ones found on Victoria Street in Richmond but for the price tag of $14, I expected a lot better.

BC_Bacon

The surprise winner was Eli’s dish – one of the times when I’m glad we share dishes hehe. He decided to just get eggs on toast and add the braised pork hock and avocado on the side.  The pork hock braised just right and was juicy and tender still.  The avocado was actually really nice with some coriander and salt mixed through – yum.

Overall, I probably won’t be back for the pho which was disappointing.  However, I might come back to try the scrambled eggs with saltbush and tofu which sounds inventive.

The Brass Coq Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Til next time,

blogsignature

*Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

Comments are like waking up to sunshine... positively lovely :). You know what to do!

