Birth-Month Goals

Good morning, world!

The last few weeks have been a bit of a whirlwind.

I finished up my #funemployment and started my new position.  It has definitely been a transition and my heart still misses my now ex-colleagues but I’m glad for the opportunity to keep developing and working towards my goals.

Another mini milestone was turning a year older last week.  Thanks to everyone for the well wishes and birthday love.  It was rather low-key but there was cake :)

BirthdayCake

My wonderful bf brought over a delicious Strawberry, Vanilla & Thyme cake from Bibelot, the patisserie that houses the petits gâteaux, macarons, handcrafted bonbons, biscuits and house-made gelato from Chez Dré.  They also do made-to-order cakes such as this one :).  The description said “vanilla bavaroise, strawberry compote, thyme financier, white chocolate rice crunch” – I loved the flavours!  It was quite light, not too sweet.  Though the rice crunch bottom was a bit hard to cut through since the rest of it the layers were quite soft.  Worth looking into for a special occasion though!

Bibelot Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

I had a look through the blog and realised that I had not updated my profile for some time…

blogprofile

5 years on, I’ve graduated from law student to lawyer.  I’ve hung up my piano teaching shoes for now and started to write songs again.  But besides that, not much else has changed besides my age.

Another thing that has stuck around for more than 5 years now has been a challenge I would like to share on this blog today (this will be a bit of a long explanation but I hope you will stick with me ’til the end).

If you know me in real life, you would likely have heard the amazing story of how my entire secondary school education was funded through the generosity of a lady I never met but to whom I will be forever grateful for. Her name was Violet Hall.

Over 5 years ago, I got the idea to start my own trust fund in honour of her and also to pay it forward so that other young women in Victoria could also be given the same opportunities and experiences that I was given – on my 21st birthday, the VHAN Hope & Opportunity Fund was birthed thanks to the generosity of friends and family at the time.

It was a wonderful idea and I still stand by it today however, the premise of what I was and still am trying to do was/is very different from what I was a recipient of. Ms Hall already had inherited funds ready to be used; I needed to build something from scratch.

Unfortunately, the realities of law school, legal practice and life has meant that minimal time and work has been invested into developing the VHAN fund into something functional and sustainable on its own.

Another key thing that has come out of my own reflection time is that this is not a project I can carry on my own – my story and idea may have been the inspiration, but presently I know I don’t have the knowledge, skills or funds alone to bring it into fruition.

This is where YOU come in.

1. BIRTH-MONTH CAMPAIGN:Amy's Birthday Campaign
As a starter, if you have not already joined in, I would like to invite you to participate in my 27th Birth-month Campaign (now to be abbreviated to “ABC” – Amy’s Birthday Campaign hehe)!

Last year, I was blown away by the generosity of friends far and wide who donated $2,450 just around the birthday campaign (I still owe you baked goods, will be in contact about that soon!) which brings the total funds held in the trust to just over $5,000.

This year, I would like to step it up a notch and see if it is possible to raise the target to $5,000.

That’s right, raise $5,000 in 1 month from my 27th birthday. From what I’ve been told, a nest egg of about $10,000 is really when things can get rolling and we can even start looking for scholarship candidates.

I know that this is an ambitious goal but there’s also a part of me that thinks it might be possible somehow.  The first week of the ABC (does it catch on??) has already been AMAZING and the update on how much has been given is at the bottom of the post if you want to scroll on down ahead!

In addition, to hopefully spur on the gift of giving, there will be some thank you gifts to YOU for donating to this dream, to continue passing the generosity on (and these gifts will also push me to accomplish some other personal goals of mine i.e. blog more, draw more, do more song cover posts, write more songs etc.)

For ALL donations: a shout-out placed on Facebook (let me know if you’d rather remain anonymous!). 
Donations over $50: a special mention in a future blog post
Donations over $100: a brush pen inspiration quote of your choice (up to 15 words).
Donations over $150: a song dedication 
Donations over $200: mention in future blog post, brush pen inspiration quote (up to 15 words) OR song dedication
Donations over $400: mention in future blog post, brush pen inspirational quote (up to 15 words) AND song dedication
Donations over $1,000: all the above and I will write you a song on a topic of your choice (as long as it is not rude or offensive in nature)

Note: Thank you gifts will be distributed or completed within the next 12 months.

Donations can be made to:
Account Name: VHAN HOPE AND OPPORTUNITY INC IN TRUST FOR VHAN HOPE AND OPPORTUNITY FUND (or the shorten version can be “VHAN HOPE AND OPPORTUNITY”)
BSB: 063109
Account number: 11042408
Please put your first initial and surname, eg “BSmith” in the Description
*Donations ARE tax deductible – yay!
If you would like a receipt please e-mail me or leave a comment at the bottom of this blog post.

2. CONNECTIONS:

Practically, I need some brain and man power to keep things moving:

Are you a person or do you know a person(s):

– Who is good at growing money (investment bankers/accountants) and would be able to give of their time to work out a plan with me?
– Who could help me come up with a proposal or prospectus to encourage future donors (business or marketing advisor)?
– Who can design some marketing paraphernalia or is a wiz with website design to get the word out there?
– Who is good at event management and can help with running some fundraising events in the near future?

If so, I would love to speak to you about networking or connecting to find people who would be interested in giving a grassroots idea some much needed kickstart support. I know that the pool of friends I have found over the years has many, talented individuals :).

Thank you so much again to friends and family for the encouragement and nudging along. I know this fund has been sitting here for some time now and it frustrates me that there seems to be such slow progress, however, as one of my friends told me recently, even if this helps even one person, even if it takes up to 50 years (let’s hope not!) it would have been worth it.

ABC WEEK 1 UPDATE:

And now the update that you have all been waiting for…

In one week, the donations that have been tallied up is….

TWO THOUSAND, FOUR HUNDRED AND FIFTY DOLLARS!!

meme

Yup, in one week, $2,450 has been raised thanks to these wonderful donors:

  1. Stephen C
  2. Teresa T
  3. Melissa Sal.
  4. Leanne L
  5. Ada Y
  6. Andy M
  7. Three individuals who would like to remain anonymous

BIG MASSIVE THANK YOU for your support and for motivating me to keep this thing moving.  Receipts are being prepared and should be out to you by the end of Birthday Campaign (I don’t think ABC is catching on…).

My heart is overflowing with gratefulness to you all of this journey of life with me and please keep asking me about this project whenever you see me and keep me accountable for this dream that has been placed on my heart.

If you would like to contribute, details are above!

Stay tuned for the next round of updates! $5,000 doesn’t seem so far away anymore!

blogsignature

One thought on “Birth-Month Goals

Comments are like waking up to sunshine... positively lovely :). You know what to do!

