“I lost my tooth!”

I think I’ve spent the last 4 Queen’s Birthdays at home – studying.  So with all my exams behind me, I saw the light of day for first time this past Aussie public holiday :).  Our family friends invited us over for lunch so I opted to make a salad to go with the BBQ that was fired up :).

Avocado and apple salad

(variation of the one I found in Super Food Ideas Christmas Special edition- Dec ’09/Jan ’10 hehe)

Serves 4 – since there were a few other dishes, I didn’t increase the portions

  • 1 iceberg lettuce, leaves separated
  • 1 red oak lettuce, leaves separated
  • 2 small avocados, peeled, sliced
  • 1 large red delicious apple, cored, quartered, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 small red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts, toasted
Dressing
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice  (kinda added heaps more later on)
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh chives
  • salt and pepper
1. Arrange lettuce on a platter. Top with avocado, apple, onion and pine nuts.
2. Make dressing – Whisk lemon juice, oil and chives together in a bowl.  Season with salt and pepper.  Drizzle dressing over salad.
3. Serve :).

Other savoury dishes:

Some sweet things:

Yep, I finally got into some proper Lightroom editing ;).

The title:

I love little kids.  At times I feel like I’ve had some of my own since I teach them on a regular basis and am surrounded by either my cousins’ babies or the ones at church.  One of the girls at the Queen’s Birthday Feast had a wobbly tooth and my dad did the honours, giving the last little wiggle to produce her toothless grin in the left hand corner of the photo below :).

♥ Ames

5 thoughts on ““I lost my tooth!”

  1. Food looks yummy! I’d like to try that salad recipe sometime, my family would love that it came all the way from Australia!

    I used to be a dental assistant and my husband is in dental school right now. We’re total teeth people! Tell the little cutie pie congrats on losing some teeth!

    1. Hehe, go for it! Let me know if they like it :D.

      Since that photo, a bottom tooth has fallen out so I will sing out the congratulations on your behalf :). Cheers!

Comments are like waking up to sunshine... positively lovely :). You know what to do!